Alongside the main WAF award categories are a host of special prizes awarded to projects that demonstrate excellence in a particular area. These prizes are awarded to projects submitted into the main WAF awards.

How do I enter?

WAF's special prizes are awarded to projects who enter into the main WAF awards. Entrants do not have to pay any additional fees to be considered for the prizes. Simply tick the relevant box on the entry form when submitting and increase your chances of winning at WAF! All finalists will go on to compete at the live-judging at WAF in Singapore. The overall winner will be revealed at the Gala Dinner on the final day.

The GROHE Water Prize has its own FREE submission process and unlike the other prizes, you do not have to enter the main WAF awards to participate. Learn more and enter here.

    The 2024 Special Prizes

    The GROHE Water Prize

    Supported by GROHE

    The Water Prize, supported by GROHE, awards visionary projects that are pushing the boundaries of design within the built environment and water. Free entries are now open for 2024.

    Best use of Natural Light

    Supported by VELUX

    This prize is to award completed building projects that showcase a unique use of a day-lighting. Special emphasis will be put on projects that consider the impact on human well-being.

    Best use of Stone

    Supported by Turkish Stones

    This prize is to award completed building projects that demonstrate innovative and exemplary use of stone within the project. 

    The Sustainability Prize

    Supported by ROCKWOOL

    Celebrating completed building projects that demonstrate new ways in which sustainable materials are deployed in projects of any scale including the brief, design, materials, construction, and longevity.

    Use of Colour 

    The Best Use of Colour Prize celebrates the creative use of colour in architecture, both inside and out. 

    Small Project of the Year

    Any completed buildings project can be entered, the only criteria is that it is judged to be small for type!

    Additional Prizes

    Student Charrette

    Supported by Broadway Malyan

    WAF's global student design charrette is an integral part of the Festival. Student teams are invited to submit proposals related to the theme ‘Tomorrow’. Entries are now open.

    Architecture Book of the Year Award

    Publishers were invited to submit entries to the inaugural Architecture Book of the Year Award programme. 

    The Architecture Drawing Prize

    Sponsored by Iris Ceramica and curated by WAF, Make Architects and Sir John Soane’s Museum, TADP celebrates the importance of drawing as a tool in capturing architectural ideas. 2024 will be a fallow year for the prize and will be returning in 2025!

    WAFX Awards

    What is WAFX?

    Launched in WAF’s 10th year, WAFX celebrates international proposals which embrace cutting-edge design addressing major world issues. Ranging from tackling the climate emergency to building community resilience.

    How to enter

    All WAFX winners are chosen from the WAF Future Projects shortlist with no additional cost or material needed from the entrant. Winners will go on to present their project live at WAF in Singapore with an overall WAFX winner announced at the Gala Dinner.

    2023 winners

    The winning projects for each of the 2023 categories have been revealed. Rethinking Oil Rigs - Offshore Data Centres by Arup was chosen as the overall WAFX 2023 winner and announced during the festival in Singapore.

    Founder Partner