Alongside the main WAF award categories are a host of special prizes awarded to projects that demonstrate excellence in a particular area. These prizes are awarded to projects submitted into the main WAF awards.

How do I enter?

WAF's special prizes are awarded to projects who enter into the main WAF awards. Entrants do not have to pay any additional fees to be considered for the prizes. Simply tick the relevant box on the entry form when submitting and increase your chances of winning at WAF!

All finalists will go on to compete at the live-judging at WAF in Singapore. The overall winner will be revealed at the Gala Dinner on the final day.

The winner of the 2023 Future Glass Prize has now been revealed! See who took the crown below.

    The 2023 Special Prizes

    The Visualisation Prize

    Supported by Lumion

    The fourth-annual Visualisation Prize brought the worlds of architecture and visualisation closer together. The finalists presented live at the festival in Singapore and the winner was announced at the Gala Dinner.

    The Futureglass Prize

    Supported by Aestech

    This prize will award the project that best demonstrates new ways in which glass and glass technology has been deployed. View the 2023 shortlist.

    Best use of Natural Light

    Supported by VELUX

    This prize is to award completed building projects that showcase a unique use of a daylighting. Special emphasis will be put on projects that consider the impact on human well-being. View the 2023 shortlist.

    International Building Beauty Prize

    Supported by Royal Fine Art Commission Trust and Ballymore

    This award will be made to a building which ‘raises the spirits.’ Finalists will be chosen from projects from within the completed building categories. View the 2023 shortlist!

    Best Use of Certified Timber Prize

    This prize is awarded to the completed building project with the best use of certified timber.

    The Engineering Prize 

    This prize will be awarded to a completed building or future project that showcases excellence in engineering and a focus on structure.

    Use of Colour 

    The Best Use of Colour Prize celebrates the creative use of colour in architecture, both inside and out. View the 2023 shortlist!

    Small Project of the Year

    Any completed buildings project can be entered, the only criteria is that it is judged to be small for type! View the 2023 shortlist.

    Additional Prizes

    Architecture Book of the Year Award

    Publishers were invited to submit entries to the inaugural Architecture Book of the Year Award programme. Entries for the 2024 edition will open in April.

    The Architecture Drawing Prize

    Sponsored by Iris Ceramica and curated by WAF, Make Architects and Sir John Soane’s Museum, TADP celebrates the importance of drawing as a tool in capturing architectural ideas. 2024 will be a fallow year for the prize and will be returning in 2025!

    WAFX Awards

    What is WAFX?

    Launched in WAF’s 10th year, WAFX celebrates international proposals which embrace cutting-edge design addressing major world issues. Ranging from tackling the climate emergency to building community resilience.

    2023 winners

    The winning projects for each of the 2023 categories have been revealed. Rethinking Oil Rigs - Offshore Data Centres by Arup was chosen as the overall WAFX 2023 winner and announced during the festival in Singapore.

    How to enter

    All WAFX winners are chosen from the WAF Future Projects shortlist with no additional cost or material needed from the entrant. Winners will go on to present their project live at WAF in Singapore with an overall WAFX winner announced at the Gala Dinner.

    Founder Partner