The International VELUX Award for Students of architecture

The International VELUX Award for Students of Architecture

The International VELUX Award is a biennial competition for students of architecture running since 2004. It encourages all schools of architecture to explore the theme of daylighting in its widest sense and inspires students to think “out of the box” and it is literarily taking the pulse on architectural education globally.

The 2018 award received 633 projects from student teams from 250 schools of architecture in 58 countries. 9 regional winning teams have been invited to present their project, live, to the jury at the World Architecture Festival on 30 November 09:40-13:00. The two global winners will be presented at the WAF Gala Dinner on 30 November.

Find all submitted projects and regional winners here

The International VELUX Award 2018 jury consist of:

  • Carme Pigem Barceló (ES), founding partner and 2017 Prizker Prize laureate from RCR Arquitectes
  • Rick Joy (US), principal architect of Rick Joy Architects
  • Li Hu (CN), founding partner of OPEN and former partner of Steven Holl Architects
  • Saša Begović (HR), founding partner and principal architect of 3LHD architects
  • Martin Pors Jepsen (DK), vice president of VELUX Innovation Center

International VELUX Award has been arranged in close collaboration with the International Union of Architects (UIA) since 2004 and the winners have been presented at the World Architecture Festival since 2016.

The award is acknowledged by the following educational organizations: The European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE), the Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC), the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) and the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS).

By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept