2018 Prizes Page

the 2018 prizes

The World Architecture Festival Awards are recognised by architects, designers and clients alike. WAF is where your work gains international exposure and where you can make global connections.
Alongside 33 award categories are a host of 'Prizes' which are free to enter, increasing your chances to be shortlisted. Discover more below.

Prize winners will be presented with their trophy at the Gala Dinner at the Beurs van Berlage on the 30th November. 

The 'Amsterdam Prize'

To mark this year's festival location, WAF is launching an ‘Amsterdam Prize’ for the best building in the city, completed between January 2017 and July 2018.

Any building in Amsterdam entered into a Completed Building category will be eligible to be considered for the shortlist of the 'Amsterdam Prize' and visited by a jury on 27 November 2018. The winner will be announced on 28th November 2018, the first day of WAF.

Amsterdam Prize Shortlist Announced

Architectural Photography Awards

The Architectural Photography Awards supported by Sto, aims to put the focus onto the skill and creativity of the photographer. Judges and viewers are asked to look beyond the architecture, to the composition, light, scale, atmosphere, sense of place and understanding of the project.

The Architectural Photography Award highlights the expertise of the specialist architectural photographer, translating the sophistication of architecture into a readable and understandable two dimensions, to explain and extol the character, detail and environment of the project.

During the shortlisting process each judge is asked to look beyond the architecture itself, considering the photographers merits composition, sense of place, atmosphere and use of scale.

Shortlisted photographs for the Architectural Photography Awards 2018 will be exhibited at the World Architecture Festival at the RAI Amsterdam, 28 - 30 November 2018, with the overall winner announced at the Gala Dinner on Friday 30th November.

The Architectural Photography Awards Shortlist Announced 

Best Use of Certified Timber Prize

This is the first time WAF will be presenting a prize for the 'Best Use of Certified Timber' in completed buildings. This prize is supported by the Programme for Endorsement for Forest Certification (PEFC).

A special jury including a PEFC representative will identify entries, which have used certified timber in an innovative, educational or artistic manner. Certified Timber provides Architects confidence that their specified timber has been sourced from sustainably managed forests and best practice supply chain organisations. Shortlisted architects will be contacted to confirm that the timber specified and used in the project originates from certified sources demonstrating leadership in sustainable design. A special jury will hear presentations of the best 10 entries on the morning of Friday 30th November at WAF.

The winner will be presented with their prize at the Gala Dinner on Friday 30th November.


Use of Colour Prize

The Use of Colour Prize, supported by Eastman, has been a popular special prize at WAF in recent years. All shortlisted completed building entries are eligible for the prize, which is the subject of a special jury who will review presentations of up to 10 selected buildings on the last day of the Festival. The winner will be presented with their prize at the Gala Dinner on Friday 30th November.

The judges are interested not just in the colours deployed, which may be applied or inherent to any particular material, but in the effect as a whole.


Glass Future Prize

This new WAF prize, sponsored by Guardian Glass, will be awarded to a Future Project entry which points to new ways in which glass and glass technology can be deployed in projects of any scale.

This is a free-to-enter prize, and all WAF Future Project shortlisted entries will potentially be eligible.

Between eight and ten selected entries will be presented by the shortlisted architects to a special WAF jury on the morning of Friday 30 November in Amsterdam. The winner will be announced and will receive their trophy at the Gala Awards Dinner in the Beurs van Berlage that evening.


Small Project of the Year Prize

When entering the WAF awards you also have the opportunity to submit your project for consideration into the Small Project of the Year Prize, doubling your chances of being a WAF finalist. Any completed buildings project can be entered, the only criteria is that it is judged to be small for type.

Entry into the prize is free and if your project is shortlisted you will present to the prize judges live at the festival. If your project is selected as the final winner, you will be presented with the WAF Small Project of the Year Prize at the Gala Dinner on Friday 30th November.


WAF Research Programme

The WAF Research Programme has been launched to promote the ideas highlighted in the WAFX Manifesto, which identified key challenges architects will need to address in the coming years. The programme will supply funding which will contribute towards work in universities or other research institutions investigating aspects of these subjects.

The first of these categories open for entries is WATER, supported by WAF headline partner GROHE. GROHE are supporting research into tackling the unique challenges that water presents, with the winning initiative awarded £10,000 of funding. The results of this work will be presented at WAF 2018 on the Festival Hall Stage. 

The WAF Research Programme will reward first-class thought leadership, innovation and research initiatives.

The World Architecture Festival reveals the winner of the WAF Research Programme - WATER category. Find out more here



The WAFX Award, supported by GreenCoat© heralds the world’s most forward-looking architectural concepts, and is awarded to future projects that identify key challenges that architects will need to address in the coming years. The WAFX Award was created as part of the World Architecture Festival's 10th anniversary celebrations in 2017 where 11 winning future projects which addressed the Manifesto issues were entered for the prize. Key challenges spanned diverse topic areas comprising of: climate, energy & carbon; water; ageing and health; re-use; smart cities; building technology; cultural identity; ethics; power and justice; and virtual world.

In 2017 the Hydroelectric Canal by Paul Lukez Architecture was announced the overall winner and category winner of the Climate, Energy & Carbon. Click here to find out more about the overall winner and the category winning projects. 

The winner will be presented with their prize at the Gala Dinner on Friday 30th November.





Mysneakers | Men Nike Footwear

By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept